Stupid question.. or maybe not...

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 04:45
ThreadID: 44219 Views:2633 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
The other week a friend gave me the roo shoo things. I can say definately that they did work because the amount of roos we saw over the weekend was huge, and the minute we started to get closer to them they'd high tail it real quick. Question is, If you have them on your vehicle, when travelling at say 70km or more, can you hear a slight whistle yourself?
Mark put them on the car the day we left. Reason I ask is I noticed over the weekend and especially tonight when driving that once I was over 70/80kms I could hear this noise which to me was like a whistling/bearing type noise and it increased/decreased according to acceleration. Now I have never known the pajero to make that noise before and the car has not long come back from her major service etc, so mechanically is all ok, (especially after putting in a new computer last week.) So it is just a coincidence that maybe something mechanical is going wrong at the same time of Mark sticking them on the bullbar, or is the noise I am hearing from them? any thoughts?
Jo

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 06:31

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 06:31
Hi if you are talking about the stick on animal scarers they make a whistling noise as opposed to the electronic ones that are too high in the frequency for us to hear.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 232856

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 07:42

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 07:42
but the brackets may introduce a wind noise, although being right at the front it would surely be hard to hear over the engine and other wind noise up there.
FollowupID: 493728

Follow Up By: thomasando - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:24

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:24
I can hear the electronic ones, and I know a couple of other people that can also. It's quite irritating, a very high pitched pulsing sound that starts at a lower frequency, and rises before repeating every second or so. Maybe it's my trained musicians ears, but mark my words they're audible to humans...
FollowupID: 493751

Follow Up By: Granpa Joe - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:23

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 19:23
Your right about the electronic item it is very annoying, was filling up at a quiet country servo when a ss ute pulled up and my head started throbbing from the sound (couldn't have been the bundy the night before) The placid workshop pooch 50m away went banannas and the workshop owner couldn't subdue him, then the workshop bloke came marching across and told the driver of the ute to turn the bloody thing off around town as he could hear it from the workshop. As soon as he turned it off the dog sat down and resumed dozing in the sun.
FollowupID: 493875

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:59

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 08:59
Does anyone know if the roo shoos annoy your dog while travelling?

AnswerID: 232883

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:08

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:08
There is no way a human would hear the whistling from these devices.
The noise is beyond the audible range of a human's hearing.
I would be looking elsewhere Jo.

As far as effect on a dog travelling in a vehicle fitted with a set, I don't believe it has any adverse effect. Have had a set of these on the Jack for more than 6 years and my dog hasn't "complained" to me:-)

AnswerID: 232885

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:54

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 09:54
I think the original post is refering to the 'stick on' variety that are activated by the wind passing through as you drive along. If that is the case, yes you can hear them whistling - pitch varies with the speed you are travelling at.
FollowupID: 493756

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 13:57

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 13:57
yeh Dio they are the ones. The noise I as hearing last night through normal suburbia roads was much louder compared to when on the open road at 100kms.
FollowupID: 493810

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 10:20

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 10:20
Got a set on the Navara bull bar ( wind powered )
The only time I hear them whistle, is when I clean them and blow thru them.
Mind you I have a bad case of tinitus ( ringing in ears ) so it don't matter to me, but
the " minister for war & finance " ( hehehe ) has brilliant hearing, and has never heard them either.

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 232908

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 13:51

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 13:51
Yeh it is just those stick on ones that the wind passes thru. I couldn't remember the name. I thought that all those things were all the same. Thought wrong!
AnswerID: 232945

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 14:50

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 14:50
There are ShuRoo and whistles, the ShuRoo is electronic and the whistles whistle. I can blow thru mine and hear it whistle so I cant see why someone with good ears couldnt hear them whistling. I cant hear them on my car but I am a Deaf old Fart

FollowupID: 493822

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 15:35

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 15:35
So I'll pull them off and see if there is any difference at all. Gotta say it was darn annoying last night!
AnswerID: 232969

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 16:03

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 16:03
Don't pull them off yet...just put a bit of masking tape over them to stop the 'effect' and see if the whistle is still there...
FollowupID: 493839

Follow Up By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 16:30

Thursday, Apr 12, 2007 at 16:30
Good idea. was just about to go and pull them off now cause I have to drive to work. Haven't got time now to find tape, will do it tomorrow.
FollowupID: 493844